



Turning the ambition of the new EU Arctic Policy into a reality

Wednesday 1 June 2022 | 13.15-16.30 | Brussels

4th floor, House of the Dutch Provinces, 59-61 Rue de Trèves, 1040 Brussels

FINAL AGENDA

12.15-13.15 Arrival and networking lunch

13.15-13.30	Welcome and introductory remarks
	 Mr Cees Loggen, CPMR President, Regional Minister of Noord-Holland Mr Erik Bergkvist, Member of the European Parliament, Vice-Chair of the SEArica Intergroup responsible for Arctic Affairs Mr Pierre Karleskind, Member of the European Parliament, Chair of the PECH Committee and SEArica Vice-Chair for Marine and Maritime Research
13.30-15.00	Supporting the green transition and sustainable blue economy of the European Arctic: opportunities and challenges
	 <u>Moderation</u>: Mr Pierre Karleskind, Member of the European Parliament, Chair of the PECH Committee and SEArica Vice-Chair for Marine and Maritime Research Mr Tomas Mörtsell, 2nd Chair of the Regional Development Committee, Region
	Västerbotten and Chair of the CPMR Baltic Sea Commission Arctic Task Force
	 Mr Jussi Ylitalo, Chair of the Board of Oulu Region Mr Ketil Eiane, Prorector at Nord University, Bodø
	 Ms Montserrat Riba, Delegate to the Delegation to the Nordic Countries and Baltic States – Government of Catalonia
	 Mr Olivier Poivre d'Arvor, French Ambassador for the Poles and Maritime Issues (video message)
	→ Reaction from Ms Charlina Vitcheva, Director General, Directorate for Maritime Affairs and Fisheries, European Commission
	Discussion with participants and the audience

INTERGROUP SEAS, RIVERS, ISLANDS AND COASTAL AREAS





15.00-15.20	Coffee break
15.20-16.20	Supporting international and interregional cooperation to preserve the Arctic as a safe place
	Moderation: Mr Urmas Paet, Member of the European Parliament and Chair of the European Parliament's Arctic Friendship Group
	 Ms Tanja Joona, Member of Board of the Regional Council, Lapland and Senior Researcher at the Arctic Centre of the University of Lapland
	 Ms Daria Makhotina, Chair of Barents Regional Youth Council
	 Mr Jari Vilen, Ambassador, Barents and Northern Dimension, Ministry for Foreign Affairs of Finland
	→ Reaction from Mr Michael Mann, EU Special Envoy for Arctic Matters at the European External Action Service
	Discussion with participants and the audience
16.20-16:30	Concluding remarks
	• Mr Erik Bergkvist, SEArica Vice-Chair responsible for Arctic Affairs
	• Ms Lucille Ehrhart, Executive Secretary of the CPMR Baltic Sea Commission

Background documents:

- In October 2021 the European Parliament adopted a resolution "<u>The Arctic: opportunities,</u> <u>concerns and security challenges</u>"
- In October 2021 the European Commission and EEAS published a joint communication "<u>A stronger</u> <u>EU engagement for a peaceful, sustainable and prosperous Arctic</u>"
- In March 2022 the CPMR Baltic Sea Commission Executive Committee adopted a <u>Policy Position</u> developed by its Arctic Task Force to react to the new EU Arctic Policy conveying a regional perspective
- o In April 2022, France published a new Strategy for the Antarctic and Arctic
- The Council of the EU will take a position in Spring 2022 about the new EU Arctic Policy
- The Committee of the Regions is preparing an Opinion about the new EU Arctic Policy
- Other regional and national actors have taken a position on the EU Arctic Policy in the last months.